Nine MiDiv drivers score at Solo Nationals; Golden Circle honored

Nine Midwest Division drivers won their class at the 2023 Tire Rack SCCA National Solo Championships Sept. 5-8 in Lincoln, NE.

Olivia Hammac, St. Louis – Super Street Ladies, Lotus Evora (2)
Sue Eckles, Nebraska – A Street Ladies, Corvette Z06 (8)
Theresa Walton, Salina – E Street Ladies, Mazda Miata (1)
Ron Williams, Kansas – G Street, Honda Civic Si (10)
Mason Herrick, Nebraska – Solo Spec Coupe, Scion FR-S (7)
Brent Schneekloth, Nebraska – Street Touring Ultra, Mitsubishi Evo IX RS (1)
Ali Wilson, Nebraska – Street Touring Roadster Ladies, Mazda Miata (1)
Elizabeth Whitworth, Nebraska – Classic American Muscle Contemporary Ladies, Mustang (1)
Chris Edens, Arkansas – Xtreme Street B, Mazda Miata (1)

Record Book:
Ron Williams joined a list of five drivers standing 10th on the list of most championships (Men) with his 10th victory.
Total Championships by Division, MiDiv stands fifth with 276.
Most Championships by MiDiv drivers: this year’s nine champions ties for our 4th best year (with 2017, 2006, 1987).
This is the 14th time the Nationals have been held at Lincoln Airpark, the most at any single site.
It is also the 14th time in Lincoln, NE, tying Topeka, KS, for second-most in any one city (one behind Salina, KS)

The Golden Circle:
This year marked the 50th Running of the Solo Nationals, and celebrated seven drivers who have competed in all 50, five of whom are MiDiv drivers. The seven 100%ers, inaugurated as the charter members of the Golden Circle, are, from left:
Rocky Entriken, Salina; George and Dee Schweikle, Central Kentucky; Susan Anderson, Southern Illinois; Rick Ruth, St. Louis; Dick Berger, Kansas City, and Charlie Clark, Kansas City.

Added to the Silver Circle (competed in 25 Nationals) were Jim French, Wichita; Frank Wietharn, Kansas, and Dave Whitworth Jr., Nebraska.


MiDiv Solo: Ladies classes included in CAM/XS/EV

The MiDiv Solo Committee has recently been made aware that SCCA is recognizing CAM-Ladies classes this year, also XS and EV Ladies. The chart of the Run Days for the Solo Nationals includes CAMSL, CAMCL, CAMTL, XSL, XAL, XBL and EVXL. This has been confirmed with Rick Myers, SCCA Director of Solo. They are also being offered at National Tours.

The MiDiv Solo Series has not been recognizing those Ladies classes, for the reason that National hasn’t. In a poll of the MiDiv Solo Committee it has decided, unanimously, that we should.

Accordingly the eight women who have points so far this year in CAM and XS classes (none in EV), have been asked if they would rather their competition in the MiDiv series this year be scored in CAM/XS-Ladies. As in any other class, they also have the option to compete in the Open class, which is where they are scored now. Contact MiDiv Pointskeeper Rocky Entriken, ro***@**

We need replies no later than July 5 (Deadline for the Yoder event). Earlier if possible. When all replies are in, or after July 5, revised results and points will be posted on www,

Registration is open for the final two events. It may be too late to change the pre-registration on MotorsportsReg to accommodate the Ladies classes, but the same option will be individually offered to any other CAM/XS/EV females at the events in Yoder and Lincoln. The class list for Lincoln does include CAM-Ladies (at the very bottom of the class list), but not XS or EVX Ladies.

Mirror Khana returns in Salina

Salina Region’s Famous Mirror Khana
Like a drag race with corners. Two cars at a time. No clocks. You only have to beat that other guy … this time.
It’s a full-loop course (originally created in 1974). Morning practice (2 runs). Double elimination tournament format. You start halfway around from each other, first one back to his own startline wins.
Registration is open:

Heartland Motorsports Park could shut down if Shawnee County’s appraiser won’t revise tax appraisal.

Owners of Heartland Motorsports Park say this could be the facility’s last season, refusing to pay taxes on an appraisal claimed to be four times the property’s value. Chris Payne, Managing Member, of HMP owner Shelby Development, LLC, issued a statement May 22, the day after Kaw Valley Race Group completed its latest SCCA Majors weekend.
See the statement and recent stories in various media:
Shawnee County says hands tied on Heartland Park (Topeka Capital-Journal 5/18/23)
Heartland Motorsports Park responds to pending litigation against Shawnee County (WIBW 5/22/23)
Heartland Park owner intends to close track if his appeal fails against Shawnee County (CompetitionPlus 5/24/23)
Facebook page: Save Heartland Motorsports Park Topeka!!!
Upcoming prime events on the Heartland schedule include the Country Stampede July 13-15 with more than 20 different performers, and the NHRA Menards Nationals Aug. 11-13, plus several more events in SCCA’s Track Night in America.